Nine Months

I woke up this morning to our rainbow moving around in my womb; I smiled. Then it hit me like a ton of bricks on my chest; I couldn’t breathe. We should have a nine month old. Nine. I can only imagine what you look like now… I bet your hair would be growing longer, I bet your curly hair grows like your dad’s. It grows a lot but it’s so curly it doesn’t look long (until it gets wet!) Little strawberry blonde curls… You should be learning and accomplishing so much. I can only imagine.

Sophia… we should be doing so much together.

I close my eyes and flashes to the hospital, funeral home and cemetery play over and over. It’s hard to sleep when your mind won’t let you. I am constantly aware that my daughter isn’t here. Doesn’t matter what I’m doing or where. I cry a lot… in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep, while watching a show and my mind wonders, the way the water hits you in the shower… the tears come. 

Sophia, you made me a mother. You’re constantly on my mind and in my heart and I know you’re watching over us. You’re so beautiful, little lady. You are kind, smart and loving. I know all of these things because I am your mother; your personality shined through immediately and still does in all of the signs you send to us. We love you so much, Sophia! Today you’re nine Heavenly months, little lady. 

Leave a Reply

